The 25th International
Annual Congress of the
World Muscle Society



Prof. Carsten Bönnemann
National Institutes of Health, USA

Carsten Bönnemann graduated from Medical School in Freiburg/Germany. He trained in child neurology, neuromuscular and genetics at MGH and Boston Children’s Hospital. He is on faculty at Children's Hospital of Philadelphia and in 2010 was recruited to the NINDS/NIH as Chief of the Neuromuscular and Neurogenetic Disorders of Childhood Section.


Dr Maxwell Damian
Department Of Neurology, Cambridge University Hospitals

Consultant Neurologist specialising in Muscle Disease and Neurocritical Care.


Dr Kevin Flanigan
Nationwide Children's Hospital

Dr. Kevin Flanigan is the Director of The Center for Gene Therapy at Nationwide Children’s Hospital in Columbus, Ohio, where he holds the Robert F. & Edgar T. Wolfe Foundation Endowed Chair in Neuromuscular Research, and is the Director of the Nationwide Children’s NIAMS P50-funded Center for Research Translation in Muscular Dystrophy Therapeutic Development.


Prof. Pascal Laforêt
Raymond Poincaré Hospital

Pascal Laforêt, MD, PhD, is a professor of Neurology specialized in neuromuscular disorders in the Neurology department of Raymond-Poincaré hospital, and coordinator of Nord/Est/Ile de France neuromuscular center. He is a member of the U1179 INSERM laboratory, dedicated to biotherapies of neuromuscular system diseases. Major focus of his research activities are metabolic myopathies, and he coordinates the French registries for mitochondrial disorders, glycogenosis type III, and Pompe disease.


Prof. Jordi Diaz-Manera
Newcastle University

Professor Jordi Díaz-Manera is an adult neurologist specialized in neuromuscular diseases. He is interested in the application of muscle MRI to the diagnosis and follow-up of patients with muscular disorders.


Anders Oldfors
University of Gothenburg, Dept. of Pathology and Genetics

Professor of Pathology at the Sahlgrenska University Hospital, Gothenburg, Sweden.
WMS commissions:
Executive board of WMS 1998-2001 and 2004-present.
Local organizer of the 9th WMS congress in Gothenburg 2004.
Teacher at the WMS pre-congress course since 2004.
Member of the Editorial Board of Neuromuscular Disorders since 1998.
Associate Editor of Neuromuscular Disorders since 2006.


Carola Hedberg-Oldfors
University of Gothenburg, Dep Pathology and genetics

Carola Hedberg-Oldfors has a PhD in genetics and she is now working as a principal Molecular biologist/Geneticist at the department of Pathology and Genetics, University of Gothenburg and at Clinical Genetics and Genomics at Sahlgrenska University Hospital in Sweden. Her main focus in clinical practise as well as research is genetic analysis and molecular biology in neuromuscular diseases.


Dr Maryam Oskoui
McGill University

Dr. Maryam Oskoui is the Director of the Pediatric Neurology Division and Associate Professor in the Departments of Pediatrics and Neurology and Neurosurgery at McGill University. She serves as an evidence-based methodologist for the American Academy of Neurology and chairs the Canadian Neuromuscular Disease Registry Spinal Muscular Atrophy Working Group.


Prof. Dr. Ulrike Schara
University Of Essen

Prof. Dr. Schara-Schmidt is professor for neuropaediatrics and neuromuscular diseases and heads the Department of Neuropaediatrics and the Centre for Neuromuscular Diseases in Children and Adolescents at the Children’s Hospital, University Hospital Essen. She is one of the leading national and international experts in this field, president of the Society for Neuropaediatrics, chair of the local ethics committee and member of numerous national and international committees.


Prof. Dr. Benedikt Schoser
Friedrich-Baur-Institute Dep. of Neurology

Benedikt Schoser is senior consultant neurologist at the Friedrich-Baur- Institute, LMU Munich, Germany. His interests are in the field of multisystemic neuromuscular diseases and metabolic and myotonic myopathies. He served the Scientific Muscle and Neuromuscular panel of the European Academy of Neurology and organizes the WMS teaching course since 2016.


Prof. Dr. Werner Stenzel
Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Department of Neuropathology

Werner Stenzel is a Neuropathologist and Myopathologist and board certified in general Neurology and in Neuropathology. His primary research interest is in juvenile and adult forms of myositis and inflammatory nerve pathologies. The 19th WMS meeting in 2014 was held in Berlin. Prof. Dr. Stenzel is elected programme committee member and executive board member for WMS.


Peter Van den Bergh
University Hospital St-Luc, Neuromuscular Reference Centre

Professor of Neurology at University of Louvain - Coordinator Neuromuscular Centre University Hospital Saint-Luc, Brussels, Belgium.
Organizer of WMS11 – 2006, Bruges, Belgium
Executive Associate Editor Neuromuscular Disorders.
Member WMS Program Committee & Executive Board.
President Inflammatory Neuropathy Consortium (PNS).
Executive Board member Euro-NMD - leader Neurophysiology Group.


Prof. John Vissing
Rigshospitalet, Department of Neuropathology

John Vissing is professor of Neurology at the University of Copenhagen, Denmark, and Director of the Copenhagen Neuromuscular Center at the National Hospital. Main research interests are metabolic myopathies, myasthenia gravis, channelopathies, muscle MRI, rehabilitation and defining outcome measures for muscle diseases. He has authored more than 400 scientific papers.

Congress Organiser:

Azura Events Ltd, Devon, UK
Office: +44 (0) 1803 732362 Mobile: +44 (0) 7584 176583
On behalf of WMS Congress Ltd. Registered Company Number 10385332
VAT Registration Number: GB 250494608
Copyright © WMS Congress Ltd

Azura Events
WMS 2019 Congress